Bowling In Your Garden

By now if you have read any of my other outdoor posts, you know I like to find unique items to put in my garden.

I once saw an idea using bowling balls….I was all over that idea till I read the “how to” & quickly decided it sounded a little too complicated for my liking! But me being me, I had already found a bowling ball for a few bucks at my VERY FAVORITE Flea Market http://www.etflea.com (Elephants Trunk Flea Market in CT. very often shown on HGTV’s Flea Market Flip)if you’ve never been you MUST go Right away! Now back to the bowling ball……after deciding not to do the project, the bowling ball just sat outside for probably two years! The plus side to this, it required no sanding when I finally did decide to do something with it. So I gave it a few coats of paint (spray paint of course) I painted it a soft white & after it was dried, used a stain to age it. Great thing about the stain not only did it age the look, it highlighted all the imperfections in the bowling ball adding to its charm!

The plus side to doing a project like this before laying new mulch…..I could spray it directly where I wanted it in my garden (of course being very careful not to spray anything but the ball…..like my flowers) When I took a step back to admire my work, it looked so lonely by itself so once again my favorite store http://www.homegoods.com did not let me down. I found this very fun & whimsical flying pig & a smaller sized ball. So now the trio looks great amongst the plants & flowers & will look even better once it’s all sitting on a new bed of rich, dark mulch!

Leave a Reply

