Brick By Brick

We had a wall in our kitchen that we couldn’t really use for cabinets because it would block the flow of walking through from one room to another but to leave it blank…. that wasn’t an option either.

My hubby & I play off each other great when it comes to decorating!  I get an idea….he can make my idea real by creating & building & then I bring his creations to life by decorating!  Its a perfect combo!  Let me also add though….he has some amazing ideas of his own!!

I visioned a brick wall for the space…with a faux fireplace & he was right on board!!  We went out to price faux brick & was shocked at the price!  I wanted a WOW factor in our kitchen but did not want to spend a lot to get it!  So thanks to friends, who just happened to have unwanted brick laying around we were able to get our brick wall! It took a lot of hard work & patience to get there but we did! Of course there are still a few details that need to get done but it will happen….takes time!

My hubby rented a machine from http://www.homedepot.com, to cut the bricks in half length wise.  That took some time (hence where the patience comes in) & was a very messy job!  (Tip…..brick dust filled clothes, wash separately or what your washing it with will come out…..pink!  That definitely falls under the…..”what was I thinking???”)

Then it came to putting the brick up on the wall, the same way you would install tile.  We used a tile adhesive mud & slapped those babies up….brick by brick!  Then came the mortar in between each brick!  I was all over that project for a HOT 5 minutes & then quickly made it my hubbies job to do!  Took way too long to get no where quick…thank god he has the patience because I sure don’t!

Now the fun….making this brick wall look like it was something we had discovered while taking down an old plaster wall!  I took some joint compound, paint & started working away.  Not the best project for someone with OCD…..it was so hard at 1st to be random about my placings but once I got into the groove, I started moving right alone.  Places that came out too dark…i used sandpaper to tone it down….it was a project that went on for a few days…there was a lot of walking away & coming back to it. #homedepot

10430412_928743607156333_6189123079516520685_n10986638_929112873786073_2419555584935593274_n

Of course every brick wall in a kitchen needs a faux fireplace! & thats what I got thanks to my amazing hubby!  We used an old beam as the mantle & we couldn’t be happier with the outcome!  So much fun to decorate over the holidays & definitely gives the kitchen the feeling of the heart of the home!

10641019_867436403287054_8284655902460353449_n

Leave a Reply

